Tamim Iqbal: Test player of the year

Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal (left) received The Wisden Cricketer’s certificate for being selected as 2010’s Test Player of the Year from captain Shakib Al Hasan at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today. Bangladesh have had successive TWC Test Players of the Year with Shakib taking the award in 2009. Tamim scored 837 runs at 59.78 in seven Tests during 2010.

“Receiving this very prestigious certificate on the eve of the series against Zimbabwe has special significance. Any award inspires me to try and raise my game even more. I am returning to cricket after a long injury lay off and I can’t wait to take the field. This will definitely lift my confidence,” says Tamim.

Wisden Cricketer Test Player of the Year 2010

1 Tamim Iqbal B (7.43 average mark per Test)
2 Graeme Swann E (7.42)
3 Virender Sehwag I (7.40)
4 Simon Katich A (7.39)
5 Dale Steyn SA (7.38)
6 Morne Morkel SA (7.22)
7 Sachin Tendulkar I (7.10)
8 Zaheer Khan I (7.07)
9= Jacques Kallis SA (7.00)
9= James Anderson E (7.00)

Qualification: minimum five Tests between September 1, 2009 and August 31, 2010. TWC reporters at each Test gave marks out of 10 to every player.

This entry was posted in Bangladesh, Featured Articles, International, Test cricket and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.