Gale collects man of the series award from Sobers

Yorkshire captain Andrew Gale collected the man of the series award at the presentation evening for The Banks Barbados T20 Cup.

The left-handed opener scored a total of 196 runs in just three innings as he led his side to victory over Warwickshire in the competition’s final at the Kensington Oval.

Twenty-four hours later, all six sides and their supporters were invited to a lavish reception at the official residence of the British High Commissioner to Barbados, Paul Brummell.

Gale received his individual award from Sir Garfield Sobers and then returned to collect the main prize from Richard Sealy, Minister of Tourism for Barbados – and currently the acting Prime Minister for the country.

Mr Sealy spoke at length about his appreciation that the counties had used the island as their base for their pre-season preparations and made the evening for the Nottinghamshire contingent by admitting that he had always wanted to play for the Trent Bridge side.

“All Barbadian schoolchildren know of Sir Garfield’s achievements with Nottinghamshire and they all want to play for them as a result. I was no different,” said Mr Sealy.

The tournament was hailed as a great success by everyone but especially for Gale and his Yorkshire side. With scores of 44 in the quarter-final against Derbyshire, a splendid 111 in the semi-final win over Notts and 41 in the final, the 28-year old was the stand-out performer of the three-day event.

“We’ve played the perfect three games in this competition,” said Gale. “Each time we’ve put a respectable total on the board and then backed it up with the quick lads up front and then our spinners have done well in the middle overs.

“We have to take the positives back to England with us now and replicate it as often as we can throughout the season.”

The other presentation during the  evening saw Derbyshire captain Wayne Madsen receive the Plate trophy from former England captain Mike Gatting, after his side defeated Hampshire in a thrilling final to clinch the competition for the four sides that were beaten in the quarter-final round.

This entry was posted in County cricket, Yorkshire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.