Six counties gear up for Barbados competition

Six English county sides are about to step up their pre-season preparations with some warm weather cricket in Barbados.

Derbyshire, Hampshire Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Warwickshire and Yorkshire will all be participating in the 3rd Annual Barbados Pre-Season Pro Cricket Camp with $15,000 prize money at stake.

The camp, which is organised by the Barbados Tourism Authority, incorporates The Barbados T20 Cup and The Barbados T20 Plate and also features a series of 40-over and two-day fixtures.

Local opposition is also supplied with both Barbados and The Combined Campuses and Colleges participating, in between their own fixtures in the regional four-day competition.

Warwickshire’s travelling party includes Chris Woakes, Darren Maddy and Tim Ambrose in a tour party that will be looking to defend the trophy they won last year by defeating Derbyshire in the final. Hampshire, regular visitors to the Caribbean, won the inaugural event in 2010.

Nottinghamshire include all three of their close-season signings, James Taylor, Michael Lumb and Harry Gurney, plus Alex Hales who has already played in India, Bangladesh and the UAE this winter.

Jonny Bairstow, a member of England’s successful ODI squad against Pakistan recently, is in a strong Yorkshire tour party which also includes Andrew Gale, Ryan Sidebottom, Joe Root and Ajmal Shahzad.

Leicestershire are hoping that their new overseas signing, Ramnaresh Sarwan, will be able to join them for some of their fixtures. The West Indies batsman, overlooked for the ODI leg of the forthcoming Australian tour to the Caribbean, plans to meet up with his new Foxes team-mates during a break from his current commitments with Guyana.

Kensington Oval in Bridgetown will host the two days of Twenty20 competition, with other tour matches taking place around the island at Windward, Carlton, Four Square, North Star and Wanderers Cricket Clubs.

17 March – Nottinghamshire v Warwickshire (40 ovs)
19 March – Derbyshire v Hampshire (40 ovs)
19 March – Nottinghamshire v Yorkshire (40 ovs)
19 March – Leicestershire v Warwickshire (40 ovs)
21 March – Barbados v Nottinghamshire (T20)
21 March – Combined Colleges & Campuses v Leicestershire (T20)
21 March – Derbyshire v Yorkshire (T20)
21 March – Hampshire v Warwickshire (T20)
22 March – semi-finals and finals of Barbados T20 Cup and Plate competitions
24 March – Nottinghamshire v Warwickshire (2-day)
24 March – Derbyshire v Leicestershire (2-day)
24 March – Hampshire v Yorkshire (2-day)

This entry was posted in County cricket and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.