Richardson delight at winning coveted Worcs trophy again

Worcestershire seamer Alan Richardson has won the county’s coveted Dick Lygon Award for the second consecutive season.

Richardson helped Worcestershire preserve their County Championship first division status by taking his season’s best haul of 73 wickets.

The Dick Lygon award, a specially tailored blazer adorned with a set of silver buttons, is awarded to the Worcestershire player deemed to be best team man.

Richardson was unable to attend the end of season award ceremony at New Road, but said: “It is a complete honour to receive any award, but to receive the Dick Lygon Award for the second successive year is particularly special.

“I have felt totally at home since joining Worcestershire, and to be part of a team of such a hard working group of players, coaches and backroom staff has been a real privilege and has certainly brought the best out of me.”

All-rounder Gareth Andrew won the Rock Lobster Most Valuable Player Award, having finished second behind Marcus Trescothick in the Professional Cricketers’s Association MVP awards.

Batsman James Cameron won the Kenyon Award for the finest first-class performance, when he guided Worcestershire to victory with his 98 in the two-day win over eventual county champions Lancashire at New Road.

Richardson’s second innings bowling in the same match also secured him the Worcestershire Cricket Society’s Champagne Moment award.

This entry was posted in County cricket, Paul Bolton, Worcestershire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Richardson delight at winning coveted Worcs trophy again

  1. Serchers says:

    It’s a shame that you didn’t have the space to mention that Ben Scott won the Fans Forum Fielder of the Year award, the fifth year of the award. The first winner was Hick (2007), Mitchell (2008 and 2009) and Kervezee (2010) .