England’s Olympics summer dates

England will host tours by West Indies, Australia and South Africa next summer as cricket competes with the 2012 Olympics for sporting attention.

Dates for all domestic international matches were published today. The second Test match against South Africa at Headingley, takes place during the Games. There are 17 one-day fixtures.

West Indies are the first visitors, with a three-match Test series to be staged at Lord’s, Trent Bridge and Edgbaston followed by a three one-dayers and a Twenty20.

Australia, currently world No.1 ranked ODI side, will take on England in a five-match one-day series before Test resume with a three-match series against South Africa at The Oval, Headingley and Lord’s.

England round off their summer with a one-day international against Scotland in August, five one-day games and three T20 matches against South Africa.

On the domestic front, Cardiff host Twenty20 Finals day for the first time with the CB40 final at Lord’s as usual.

ECB chief executive David Collier said: “With England looking to maintain its position as the No.1 side in the World Test rankings and also preparing to defend the World T20 title in Sri Lanka next autumn, interest in next summer’s international programme will be intense.

“A record number attended this season’s international fixtures and with an exciting summer in prospect again in 2012, we would urge spectators to buy tickets early in order to avoid disappointment.”

International schedule Summer 2012

West Indies
May 5-7 West Indies v Sussex, three day Hove
May 10-13 West Indies v England Lions, four day Northampton
May 17-21 West Indies v England, first Test Lord’s
May 25-29 West Indies v England, second Test Trent Bridge
June 2-3 West Indies v Leicestershire, two day Grace Road
June 7-11 West Indies v England, third Test Edgbaston
June 13 West Indies v Middlesex, one day Lord’s
June 16 West Indies v England, first ODI Rose Bowl
June 19 West Indies v England, second ODI The Oval
June 22 West Indies v England, third ODI Headingley
June 24 West Indies v England, only T20I Trent Bridge

June 21 Australia v Leicestershire, one day Grace Road
June 23 Australia v Ireland, one day Belfast
June 26 Australia v Essex, one day (D/N) Chelmsford
June 29 Australia v England, first ODI Lord’s
July 1 Australia v England, second ODI The Oval
July 4 Australia v England, third ODI (D/N) Edgbaston
July 7 Australia v England, fourth ODI Chester-le-Street
July 10 Australia v England, fifth ODI (D/N) Old Trafford

South Africa
July 9-10 South Africa v Somerset, two day Taunton
July 13-15 South Africa v Kent, three day Canterbury
July 19-23 South Africa v England, first Test The Oval
July 27-28 South Africa v Worcestershire, two day Worcester
Aug 2-6 South Africa v England, second Test Headingley
Aug 10-11 South Africa v Derbyshire, two day Derby
Aug 16-20 South Africa v England, third Test Lord’s
Aug 22 South Africa v Gloucestershire, one day Bristol
Aug 24 South Africa v England, first ODI Cardiff
Aug 28 South Africa v England, second ODI (D/N) Rose Bowl
Aug 31 South Africa v England, third ODI (D/N) Kia Oval
Sept 2 South Africa v England, fourth ODI Lord’s
Sept 5 South Africa v England, fifth ODI (D/N) Trent Bridge
Sept 8 South Africa v England, first T20I Emirates Durham ICG
Sept 10 South Africa v England, second T20I (D/N) Old Trafford
Sept 12 South Africa v England, third T20I (D/N) Edgbaston

August 12 Scotland v England Venue TBC

Major Domestic Finals
August 25 Twenty20 Finals Day Cardiff
September 15 CB40 Final Lord’s

This entry was posted in England, England home, Featured Articles, International. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.